On Wednesday, March 16, 2022, the Department of Homeland Security announced that it has designated Afghanistan for Temporary Protected Status, most commonly known as “TPS.” To be eligible for TPS, Afghans must have continuously resided in the United States as of March 15, 2022, and the TPS designation will be in place for 18 months.